Skip to content

Farmer’s Market | Charleston {Food Photography}

May 5, 2012

One of my favorite things about my job as a photographer & my travel schedule is getting up early on Saturday morning’s and checking out the local farmer’s market. Both for the experience and for the photographs! So, by default, I have high hopes for a good market each time I visit a new city. Well, the Charleston Farmer’s Market was exceptional this early morning. The people, the food and the Saturday morning smiles & coffee were all fantastic in Marion Square in Downtown Charleston today!  Before 9am I had tried everything from homemade pickles, to fresh peaches, to seasonal shrimp, to beef & goat cheese ravioli (which were amazing and I highly recommend meeting Brian of Rio Bertolini’s!!). But I must say that if you get a chance, do yourself a favor and head over and meet the guys at Cannonborough  Beverage Company. You can’t miss Mick and Brandon in their old school bow ties as they serve up soda with a culinary twist. (*Try the grapefruit & mint or ginger beer. Fabulous!) And before you leave, you’ll need to indulge in one of the fabulous popsicle flavors that King of Pop’s produces for the market! Let’s just say that before 9am I had to make one of the harder decision of my day as to whether I’d have a homemade Arnold Palmer, Chocolate Sea Salt, Grapefruit Mint, Mexican Chocolate, Raspberry Lime, Strawberry Lemonade , Blood Orange & Basil OR Blackberry Ginger popsicle. It. Was. Tough.

Needless to say, Charleston Farmer’s Market steps right up there with my favorite Saturday market’s behind Telluride Farmer’s Market and Portland Farmer’s Market! Preparing the food is up next… but enjoy the images!

8 Comments leave one →
  1. May 5, 2012 7:16 pm

    Gorgeous photographs! Ps. I see King of Pops has made it all the way to Charleston. What an Atlanta success story!

  2. May 16, 2012 3:04 pm

    Great Photos! Claire you did an amazing job capturing this incredible market! I had a wonderful time getting to know you….best of luck and hope our paths cross again! xoxox

    • June 2, 2012 8:11 pm

      Thank you SO much Angie!! Loved meeting you and I do hope our paths cross again! Let me know if you’re ever in Dallas!!

  3. May 17, 2012 10:22 am

    I love your pictures … you were so lucky to attend ! Charleston seems to be a gorgeous town ..

  4. June 1, 2012 11:23 am

    Ah! I live here and LOVE the market. I have grand plans to get there early tomorrow morning for a coffee and fresh strawberries. What beautiful photos!

    • June 2, 2012 8:10 pm

      Thank you so much! And what a beautiful city and market you have!! Thanks for sharing!! Take care!

Leave a comment